The Complete Solo Piano Works Of Gordon Crosse

Annabelle Lawson

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: PFCD219

Release Date:  10 November 2023

Label:  Prima Facie

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  7141148049582

Genres:  Classical  Solo Instrumental  

  • Description

    "Distinguished composer (and dear friend) Gordon Crosse, passed away in November 2021, aged 84.

    When I heard that Gordon was ill, I wrote to him promising to record the remainder of his works for solo piano and compile them into one, single disc. Gordon died less than a week after I emailed him. It was particularly important to me to make this promise, as Gordon's last work for solo piano - a beautiful Etude called L'Isle Heureuse (Papa Westray, Orkney) - was written as a gift for me and my parents and arrived on our doorstep, as a surprise, in 2019 - just before the birth of my second son.

    Having already recorded one piano sonata, a collection of miniatures and the Trio (revised for the Lawson Trio in 2014), onto a previous disc for Prima Facie Records, two piano sonatas and the Etude remained to be recorded. I have lived with Gordon's music for nearly ten years and given the world premieres of two of the piano sonatas, along with the revised Trio, so this music is extremely close to my heart. I'm so glad to have recorded a disc comprising music which I hold in such high esteem, by such a celebrated and much-loved composer and person.

    I have been fortunate enough to have received £2,500 of grants from the Ida Carroll Trust and the Vaughan Williams Foundation, as well as several thousand pounds of pledges through Kickstarter and individual donors. The outpouring of love and respect for Gordon - both as a man and as a composer - has been inspiring and moving and I'm both proud and excited to have brought this project to fruition." Annabelle Lawson

    "a polished and exciting first performance. Gordon Crosse appeared to be well satisfied by the concert debut of his new sonata [Sonata no.3]. It could scarcely have been rendered with more virtuosity or emotional commitment." - Paul Conway, Musical Opinion, September 2019

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Piano Sonata No.1 - Vivace con Fuoco
      • 2. Piano Sonata No.1 - Lento Molto, Calmo Assai
      • 3. Piano Sonata No.1 - Presto Scorrevole e Sotto Voce
      • 4. Ron's Toyes, for piano - Puffin Windmill
      • 5. Ron's Toyes, for piano - Battleship and Submarine
      • 6. Ron's Toyes, for piano - Classic Hen
      • 7. Ron's Toyes, for piano - Sheep and Shearsman
      • 8. Ron's Toyes, for piano - Two WWI Biplanes
      • 9. Piano Sonata No.2 - Fluid
      • 10. Piano Sonata No.2 - Still
      • 11. Piano Sonata No.2 - Vigorous
      • 12. Piano Sonata No.3 - Allegro Vigoroso
      • 13. Piano Sonata No.3 - Molto Lento
      • 14. Piano Sonata No.3 - Prestissimo
      • 15. L'Isle Heureuse (etude for solo piano)