Messiaen: Piano Music

Angela Hewitt

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA67054

Release Date:  01 May 1998

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571170541

Genres:  Classical  Solo Instrumental  

  • Description

    Angela Hewitt writes …
    The music of Olivier Messiaen immediately attracts our attention with its rhythm, variety of colour, technical brilliance, energy, joy, and spirituality. It is incredibly well written for the instrument, even though its difficulties may deter many a player. Audiences are rarely indifferent to it, and for many it has a very powerful effect.
    The Preludes were written when Messiaen was about 20 and are remarkable pieces for one so young. They were premiered in 1931. The two 'Islands of Fire' are from his Quatre etudes de rythme from 1950 and are dedicated to Papua New Guinea. Messiaen states that his themes are characterized 'by the violence of the magic rites of that country'. He wrote Vingt Regards ('Twenty Contemplations of the Child Jesus') for his wife Yvonne Loriod. In it he uses the piano like an orchestra, demanding a huge range of dynamics, attacks, and timbres.
    For this recording my wish was not only to present my favourite works by Messiaen, but also to give the listener an idea of the development of his writing—all on a single disc.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. La colombe
      • 2. Chant d'extase dans un paysage triste
      • 3. La nombre léger
      • 4. Instants défunts
      • 5. Les sons impalpables du rêve ...
      • 6. Cloches d'angoisse et larmes d'adieu
      • 7. Plainte calme
      • 8. Un reflet dans le vent ...
      • 9. ÃŽle de feu 1
      • 10. ÃŽle de feu 2
      • 11. Regard de la Vierge
      • 12. Le Baiser de l'Enfant-Jésus
      • 13. Regard de l'Esprit de Joie