Spot On

Andy LaVerne

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SCCD31958

Release Date:  01 March 2024

Label:  SteepleChase

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  716043195824

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    When bassist Mike Richmond utters the magic line "Spot on!" at the ending of the recording of track 5 of this album, the album title was decided - you can actually hear it on the disc. This is Andy LaVerne's 36th outing as leader on SteepleChase. Their collaboration goes back to 1977 when he was touring Europe with Stan Getz. Since then he has been presenting uniquely creative albums. This release starts with a homage to McCoy Tyner and ends with one to Chick Corea.

    Andy Laverne: piano
    Ben Solomon: tenor saxophone
    Mike Richmond: bass
    Jason Tiemann: drums

    Recorded February 2023

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Tune For Tyner
      • 2. Wistful Thinking
      • 3. Bassline
      • 4. Solace
      • 5. Spot On
      • 6. Interlude
      • 7. Flipside
      • 8. Prelude For Chick
      • 9. Corean