The News

Andrew Cyrille Quartet

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: 3520703
Only 84 left!

Release Date:  27 August 2021

Label:  ECM

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  602435207032

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    The new album from the quartet led by one of jazz's innovators, drummer Andrew Cyrille, carries the story forward from the 2016 release The Declaration of Musical Independence, a recording which Down Beat hailed as "an unabashed exploration into time, pulse space and atmosphere?ambitious yet simple, rich yet stripped-down, challenging yet infinitely satisfying."

    Bill Frisell and Ben Street remain from the Declaration line-up with David Virelles taking the piano role.

    Each of the players has space for improvisational expression - and Frisell and Virelles also contribute material - but it is Cyrille's communicative sensibility and what the New York Times called his "watchful, flowing pulse" that guides the band.

    Andrew Cyrille: drums
    Bill Frisell: guitar
    David Virelles: piano / synthesizer
    Ben Street: double bass


    "Quiet, this News may be - but it's right up there among ECM Records' entrancing understatements." - **** The Guardian

    "Cyrille's often painterly textural invention has always been outstanding, and here he shows a consummate command of low tempo on daringly spacious, sparse material where he chooses every strike of snare or crash of ride cymbal with the utmost care." - **** Jazzwise (Editor's Choice)

    "The American drummer brings subtle strokes and a light touch to a new album...

    Although Frisell is the defining voice, Virelles' tonal palette adds contrast, depth and is the lead voice on two pieces of his own.

    "Incienso" showcases his subtle, dark-toned pianist's touch and "Dance of the Nuances", co-composed with Cyrille, his control of synthesised sound." - **** Financial Times

    "It's great to hear this quartet explore the music they make in such an open and expansive way.

    As a leader, Andrew Cyrille certainly seems to bring out the best elements of the musicians he chooses to work with, and the inspired performances on "The News" make it a worthy addition to anyone's ECM collection." - **** UK Vibe

  • Tracklisting

    1. Mountain
    2. Leaving East of Java
    3. Go Happy Lucky
    4. The News
    5. Incienso
    6. Baby
    7. Dance of the Nuances