Alfredo Rodriguez

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: MAC1109

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  04 March 2016

Label:  Mack Avenue

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  673203110922

Genres:  Rock  

  • Description

    Each recording by Cuban pianist and composer Alfredo Rodríguez tells a story. His albums are not collections of musical pieces but tales told in a distinctive voice. His 2011 debut, 'Sounds of Space', served as an introduction to his bold talent. Guests on 'Tocororo' include Ibrahim Maalouf (trumpet), Richard Bona (vocals, electric bass) and Ibeyi (vocals).

    The thirteen tracks on 'Tocororo' - the name refers to Cuba's national bird - include five originals by Rodríguez and a fresh reading of Compay Segundo's classic song "Chan Chan," which became an international hit after the Buena Vista Social Club phenomenon. There are also nods to modern Cuban songwriting such as "Venga La Esperanza" by singer and songwriter Silvio Rodríguez (no relation) and "Sabanas Blancas," a musical postcard of Havana by Gerardo Alfonso.

    Personnel: Alfredo Rodríguez (piano, Suzuki melodion, synthesizer, vocals), Reinier Elizarde (acoustic bass), Michael Olivera (drums, percussion), Ibeyi, Ganavya Doraiswamy, Antonio Lizana (vocals), Richard Bona (vocals, electric bass), Ibrahim Maalouf (trumpet), Ariel Bringuez (tenor and soprano saxophones, clarinet, flute)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Chan Chan
      • 2. Yemaya
      • 3. Raices [Roots]
      • 4. Gitanerías
      • 5. Tocororo
      • 6. Venga La Esperanza
      • 7. Ay, Mamá Inés
      • 8. Sabanas Blancas
      • 9. Jesu, Joy Of Man's Desiring
      • 10. Kaleidoscope
      • 11. Adiós Nonino
      • 12. Meteorite
      • 13. Ay, Mamá Inés [remix]