Chess Moves

Alex Norris

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SCCD31949

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  13 October 2023

Label:  SteepleChase

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  716043194926

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary Folk  

  • Description

    "An album of straight-ahead, swinging music" was something Alex Norris had in mind when he went into studio in the fall of 2020 to record his highly acclaimed SteepleChase debut album 'Fleet From The Heat' (SCCD 31918).

    Here on his second album Norris continues with his theme of "straight-ahead with a lot of swinging" offering us a thoughtful and enticing contemporary hard-bop album.

    "Trumpeter Alex Norris has a way of making this record sparkle right out of the box". - Dusty Groove on 'Fleet From The Heat'

    Alex Norris: trumpet, fluegelhorn
    Ari Ambrose: tenor saxophone
    Rick Germanson: piano
    Paul Gill: bass
    Brian Floody: drums

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Chess Moves
      • 2. Short Waltz
      • 3. Too Many Trips
      • 4. No News
      • 5. My Ideal
      • 6. Bossa Tranquillo
      • 7. There It Went
      • 8. Lights Out
      • 9. I Should Say So
      • 10. For A Change