365: Volume 1

Aidan O'Rourke

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD


Format Details:

Release Date:  25 May 2018

Label:  Reveal Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  0713179439624

Genres:  Folk  Scottish Folk  

  • Description

    365: Volume 1 is a new double album (released by Reveal Records on 25 May 2018) from one of Scotland's finest musicians, fiddler and composer Aidan O'Rourke. The multiple BBC Folk Award winner and founding member of Lau, Kan and Blazin' Fiddles spent a year writing daily musical responses to James Robertson's short story collection, 365: Stories (Hamish Hamilton / Penguin Books Ltd 2013)

    By the end of the year he had written 365 new tunes, from which he selected 22 to record with Kit Downes (ECM Records) on harmonium and piano. They tour the album starting in the UK through April 2018. James Robertson appears as special guest to read from his 365: Stories collection on selected dates.

    "It all began with short stories", Aidan O'Rourke says. "James Robertson, one of my favourite Scottish authors, wrote a short story every day for a year, and each story had exactly 365 words. I loved reading those stories: a daily dose of poetry and wisdom. And I loved the writing". James Robertson added, "I am amazed that Aidan O'Rourke went through an entire year composing his daily musical responses to my 365-word stories. I am even more amazed, and deeply impressed, by the beauty and variety of these recordings by Aidan and Kit. It has been a joy working with them in live performance and I look forward to doing so again in 2018."

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Nobody Could Be One Hundred Percent Sure About The Last Tiger
      • 2. Do People Still Do This?
      • 3. Every Morning She Steps Out The Front Door
      • 4. Her Feet Padding Back
      • 5. A Fox And A Hound Met Early One Morning On A Hillside
      • 6. He Looked At His Right Hand
      • 7. It Was The Savage Boys Watching From The Cliffs
      • 8. I Was An Experiment
      • 9. The Room Is Darkness
      • 10. You Forget More Than You Retain, And That's The Truth
      • 11. Awake Isn't Good

      Disc 2

      • 12. I Don't Know Beforehand How I Will Appear To Anyone
      • 13. Lying Awake In The Middle Of The Night
      • 14. Sometimes He Felt He Could Live Permanently In A Hotel
      • 15. I Am Not Able To Read On Buses
      • 16. The Phone Rang Just As She'd Got The Children To The Table
      • 17. They Were Passing The End Of A Particular Street
      • 18. Jack,' His Mother Says One Day, 'That Auld Dug Has Had It'
      • 19. There Was Once A Man So Old That Most Of His Family, And All Of His Friends, Had Left The World Long Before Him
      • 20. When I Was Still Some Distance From The Village
      • 21. At The Interval, As The Applause Dies Away And People Begin To Make For The Exits
      • 22. Now,' The Old Woman Said, 'before You Go Up There I Want To Introduce You To Someone'