Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: LPWABB179

Release Date:  17 November 2023

Label:  We Are Busy Bodies

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  634457152892

Genres:  Rock  Alternative  

  • Description

    9Million is a Toronto shoegaze band helmed by the multi-instrumentalist, songwriter and producer Matthew Tomasi. Best known for his work with alt pop icons like Ethel Cain and Nicole Dollanganger, Tomasi has gained increased notoriety in recent years for his behind the scenes work as a producer and mix engineer, but he is also a tireless creator and songwriter himself; playing and contributing to the music of countless bands and independent artists. With 6 other members including Ace Mendoza (Lead Guitar, Vocals), Danielle Clark (Vocals), Lia Lepre (Keys), Jamie Fastlane (Bass), Brandon Santi (Drums), and Looch Man (Guitar, Vocals); Tomasi says 9million started out "as a creative outlet for myself to explore new sounds and ideas that I wasn't touching on with any of my other projects or clients'', but quickly the project took on a collaborative spirit not unlike his hardcore band Friction. The sound of 9million infuses a shoegaze / alt rock foundation with elements of brooding alternative pop, indie rock, and synthwave - resulting in something that recalls ahead of their time 90s bands like Hum and Failure while connecting that sound from the past to the modern world of post-Lana Del Rey slowcore pop sound that Tomasi traffics in on records like Preacher's Daughter, Natural Born Losers, and Married In Mount Airy.

    Featuring several new original songs and two covers, the mixtape explores more electronic elements and layers of vocal processing that, when paired with the fuzzed out rock sound of Between Us, present an exciting blend of styles the band is pulling from. As a whole, Gush is a loose yet emotionally hefty collection of songs that highlights Tomasi's distinct approach to shoegaze while also capturing the unique dynamic and possibilities of this band as a whole.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Sun Spots
      • 2. Blue Raspberry
      • 3. Ultraviolet Reflection
      • 4. Sometimes always
      • 5. Mercury Tears
      • 6. Everything is Embarrassing