Tow Lines

Rory McLeod

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TALK007

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  07 June 2024

Label:  Talkative Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5052442026167

Genres:  World Music  Acoustic  

  • Description

    "TOW LINES" is Rory McLeod's 13th album and comprises 12 new songs including 7 that were specifically written for 'The Grit of Life' - a musical theatre show based on a travelling canal boat theatre that toured the UK in 2021. Some of Rory's songs on "TOW LINES" were inspired by his lockdown experiences and also reflect his cultural, social and political reflections.

    'You don't know her like I do' is a Love Song "about me stubbornly liking and loving someone, whom others are trying to demonise and discourage me from loving". The song can also be understood as an allegory.

    'Didn't he ramble' is a song for late departed friends (including singer Brendan Croker) lost in the past couple of years.

    'Clap the Capitalists': Rory is known for his firebrand cultural and social commentary and his 'angry love songs'. He was challenged to write a song by some friends when he was passionately ranting about the state of the nation. As Rory explained, "The song was written after Prime Minister Boris Johnson said 'We should clap for the capitalists'. It is unashamedly partisan and full of scathing satire and sarcasm".

    'Everybody's fault but mine': Made during lockdown, this is a topical re-working of Blind Willy Johnson's song, 'It's nobody's fault but mine'.

    'Older than Elvis' is an affectionate, tragic-comic song narrative about an Elvis Tribute act who realises, tragically, that on his next birthday, he is going to become older than Elvis.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Waterproof
      • 2. You Don't Know Her Like I Do
      • 3. On a Clear Day
      • 4. I've Moored Everywhere
      • 5. Living on the Edge
      • 6. Just Add Water
      • 7. Clap for the Capitalists
      • 8. Didn't He Ramble
      • 9. New Navvy
      • 10. Everybody's Fault but Mine
      • 11. Older Than Elvis