Smashed Hits


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDSBR7044

Release Date:  13 October 2023

Label:  Sunset Blvd Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  708535704423

Genres:  Rock  Alternative  

  • Description

    Greatest Hits Live! Featuring the new single "You're An Ocean" and "The Way" Formed in 1994 in Austin, Texas, Fastball combined a fondness for melodic, Beatles-inspired pop with the alternative aesthetic of late-'90s mainstream rock. Guitarist/vocalist Miles Zuniga, bassist/vocalist Tony Scalzo, and drummer Joey Shuffield -- all veterans of Austin's underground rock scene -- originally banded together under the name Magneto U.S.A.

    After signing a major label deal, the musicians changed their name to Fastball and released their debut album, Make Your Mama Proud, in 1996. The album demonstrated the band's synthesis of modern flavor and bygone pop hooks, a combination that would later launch Fastball into the mainstream. The follow-up effort, All the Pain Money Can Buy, appeared in early 1998, featuring a considerably tighter band and more pop flourishes.

    Although the bandmates were still working side jobs at the time of its release, lead-off single "The Way" proved to be a meteoric hit, topping the American rock charts for seven weeks while enjoying crossover success as a pop single. "Fire Escape" and the piano-fueled "Out of My Head" did similarly well, and All the Pain Money Can Buy went platinum within six months of its release, earning two Grammy nominations along the way. Fastball will be on tour for the remainder of 2023 and into 2024. Includes "You're An Ocean," "The Way," "Out of My Head," "Fire Escape," "Sooner or Later," "All I Was Looking For Was You," "Hummingbird," "Damaged Goods," "Warm Fuzzy Feeling," and a cover of the Doors Classic "Touch Me."

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Introduction
      • 2. Fire Escape
      • 3. Warm Fuzzy Feeling
      • 4. All I Was Looking For Was You
      • 5. Hummingbird
      • 6. Damaged Goods
      • 7. You're An Ocean
      • 8. Get You Off My Mind
      • 9. The Help Machine
      • 10. Touch Me
      • 11. Out Of My Head
      • 12. America
      • 13. The Loop
      • 14. The Way
      • 15. Sooner Or Later