All Of Me

Eddie Lockjaw Davis Quartet

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: G1181

Release Date:  20 October 2023

Label:  SteepleChase

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  716043118113

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary Folk  

  • Description

    180g audiophile vinyl reissue of Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis and his quartet's 1983 SteepleChase LP, which included pianist Kenny Drew.

    Magnificently iconic tenor player to come out of the post-swing era, Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis (1922-1986) cut two albums for SteepleChase during his later years. This album was recorded in 1983 in Copenhagen and earned superlative reviews all over the world.

    "Tenorman Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis had already been a potent force in jazz for 35 years when he recorded this set but as it turned out his SteepleChase date (his next-to-last session) was one of the strongest of his career. Accompanied by a trio led by pianist Kenny Drew, Lockjaw really tears into these standards which are highlighted by "I Only Have Eyes for You," "There Is No Greater Love" (the alternate version was released for the first time on its CD reissue), "Four" and the title cut. Davis was at the peak of his powers during this recording, making this SteepleChase outing one of his very best." - Scott Yanow, AllMusic

    "Nothing valedictory about this date. No signs of decline. It's hard to believe it was Jaw's last album as a leader. Just the thing if you didn't miss your water until your well went dry." - Cadence

    Recorded Live at Jazzhus Montmartre, Copenhagen July 4 & 5, 1973

    Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis: tenor saxophone
    Kenny Drew: piano
    Jesper Lundgaard: bass
    Svend-Erik Norregaard: drums

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. I Only Have Eyes For You
      • 2. Ow!
      • 3. Funky Fluke
      • 4. There'll Never Be Another You

      Side 2

      • 1. All Of Me
      • 2. That's All
      • 3. Coming Home Baby
      • 4. Four