Slush Pump Truck Stop

Alex Heitlinger

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SCCD31957

Release Date:  01 March 2024

Label:  SteepleChase

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  716043195725

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    By pure happenstance this stunning SteepleChase debut album by trombonist/composer/arranger Alex Heitlinger and his 22-piece band materialised four years after the recording. The band's drummer John Riley tipped Nils Winther of the existence of this recording in an unrelated session one day and the rest is history. Enjoy the original, vibrant sound of a big band jazz of 21st century.

    "Alex Heitlinger is a thoughtful trombonist and a promising composer" - Nate Chinen, New York Times

    Alex Heitlinger: conductor
    Michael Thomas, Bruce Williamson, Peter Sommer, Jon Armstrong, Jon Gudmundson: reeds
    Greg Gisbert, Shane Endsley, Daniel Jonas, Austie Robinson: trumpet
    John Fedchock, Brian Woodbury, Nate Campbell, Jennifer Wharton: trombone
    Corey Christiansen: guitar
    Carmen Staaf: piano
    David Rodgers: piano, Hammond B3
    Philip Kuehn: bass
    John Riley, Alex Chaloff: drums
    Zach Brock: vocals
    Doug Smith: vibes, percussion

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. For Patrick
      • 2. Slush Pump Truck Stop
      • 3. Trail to Cullowhee
      • 4. Autumn Leaves
      • 5. Here and Now
      • 6. Lines and Circles
      • 7. Dissolution-Disillusion
      • 8. Unfurling