Pioneering Women Of Bluegrass: The Definitive Edition

Hazel Dickens & Alice Gerrard

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SFW40252

Release Date:  21 October 2022

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  093074025222

Genres:  Folk  Bluegrass  

  • Description

    The soaring harmonies and driving string-band sound of Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard shattered the glass ceiling of male-dominated bluegrass in the 1960s.

    Hazel and Alice's influence on music – and not just roots music – is hard to overstate. They've been acknowledged by artists as diverse as country superstars Naomi and Wynonna Judd, champion flat-picker Molly Tuttle, and proto-feminist punk rocker Kathleen Hanna. Their steadfast devotion to their own hard-hitting style inspired generations of women in bluegrass. Pioneering Women of Bluegrass: The Definitive Edition collects all the songs from Hazel and Alice's two groundbreaking Folkways albums, and a previously unreleased bonus track, all remastered by their original producer Peter Siegel. They are joined on these recordings by such bluegrass legends as Chubby Wise and David Grisman. The CD booklet includes an expanded set of essays by Hazel, Alice, Laurie Lewis, and Peter Siegel, as well as iconic photographs by John Cohen and Carl Fleischhauer.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. I Just Got Wise
      • 2. Walkin' in My Sleep
      • 3. The One I Love Is Gone
      • 4. Weary Lonesome Blues
      • 5. Long Black Veil
      • 6. Cowboy Jim
      • 7. Memories of Mother and Dad
      • 8. Sugar Tree Stomp
      • 9. Mommy Please Stay Home With Me
      • 10. Gabriel's Call
      • 11. Coal Miner's Blues
      • 12. Difficult Run
      • 13. Who's That Knocking?
      • 14. A Tiny Broken Heart
      • 15. Can't You Hear Me Calling?
      • 16. Darling Nellie Across the Sea
      • 17. Won't You Come and Sing for Me?
      • 18. Lee Highway Blues
      • 19. A Distant Land to Roam
      • 20. Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar
      • 21. Take Me Back to Tulsa
      • 22. They're at Rest Together (T.B. Blues)
      • 23. John Henry
      • 24. Just Another Broken Heart
      • 25. Train on the Island
      • 26. Lover's Return
      • 27. I Hear a Sweet Voice Calling
      • 28. Childish Love