The Music Never Stopped: The Roots Of The Grateful Dead


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: SHAN6014LP

Release Date:  22 March 2024

Label:  Shanachie

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  016351601414

Genres:  Americana  Roots  

  • Description

    In their long career The Grateful Dead have been inspired by a stunning variety of American musical artists and traditions from blues to country to rock to folk - some of the most exciting and moving music ever recorded. Here are the original versions of The Dead's best loved cover tunes that surprise and delight with their musical depth, originality, and feeling. This collection has been lovingly compiled by a group of Dead insiders including Henry Kaiser, David Gans, and others with the enthusiastic support of The Dead itself. There are extensive notes included that give an overview detailing how the band came to cover each of these tunes and when they first played them in concert. The distinctive Robert Crumb cover artwork is an instant attraction and adds to the collectability of this release.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Rain and Snow- J. Obray Ramsey
      • 2. Mama Tried- Merle Haggard
      • 3. Iko Iko- Dixie Cups
      • 4. Samson And Delilah- Rev. Gary Davis
      • 5. Big Railroad Blues-Cannon's Jug Stomp
      • 6. El Paso- Marty Robbins

      Side 2

      • 1. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue- Bob Dylan
      • 2. Spoonful- Charlie Patton
      • 3. The Red Rooster- Howlin' Wolf
      • 4. The Promised Land-Chuck Berry
      • 5. Don't Ease Me In- Henry Thomas
      • 6. Big Boss Man- Jimmy Reed
      • 7. Turn On Your Love Light-Bobby "Blue" Bland