The Full English

The Full English (Seth Lakeman, Martin Simpson, Fay Hield, Nancy Kerr, Sam Sweeney, Rob Harbron & Ben Nichols)

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TSCD823

Release Date:  07 October 2013

Label:  Topic

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  714822082327

Genres:  Folk  English Folk  

  • Description

    Winners of BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards Best Album & Best Group. Award winning group includes Fay Hield , Nancy Kerr, Martin Simpson, Seth Lakemen, Sam Sweeney, Rob Harbron, Ben Nichols Scholar and acclaimed singer Fay Hield has assembled The Full English band, pulling together half a dozen of the top talents on the Folk scene. Rapidly becoming identified as a folk supergroup the Full English includes singer and fiddle player Seth Lakeman, who has successfully steered English folk into the musical mainstream with his high-energy performances and a series of best-selling albums, and one of the world's finest and most admired guitarists, Martin Simpson. Nancy Kerr is another fiddler/singer with a deep commitment to the English traditional repertoire, celebrated for her boundary-smashing partnerships with Eliza Carthy and James Fagan. Sam Sweeney (fiddle) and Rob Harbron (concertina) are formidable instrumentalists who feature in Fay's backing band The Hurricane Party as well as in Jon Boden's Remnant Kings, and are two of the most in-demand session musicians on the scene. Nailing all this multi-instrumentality down is Ben Nicholls, double bassist of choice for artists as diverse as the Seth Lakeman Band, Martin Carthy and Jimmy Somerville The Full English is a groundbreaking project sponsored by the English Folk Dance and Song Society that draws together for the first time the early 20th century folksong collections of Harry Albino, Lucy Broadwood, Clive Carey, Percy Grainger, Maud Karpeles, Frank Kidson, Thomas Fairman Ordish, Cecil Sharp, Ralph Vaughan Williams and Alfred Williams. The result is the most comprehensive searchable database of British folk songs, tunes, dances and customs in the world.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Awake Awake
      • 2. Stand By Your Guns
      • 3. William and Nancy
      • 4. Creeping Jane
      • 5. Arthur O'Bradley
      • 6. Portrait Of My Wife
      • 7. Fol The Day-O
      • 8. Brigg Fair
      • 9. Rounding The Horn
      • 10. The Servant Man
      • 11. Man In The Moon
      • 12. Linden Lea