Spread The Love

Ronnie Earl & The Broadcasters

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SPCD1347

Release Date:  16 August 2010

Label:  Stony Plain

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  772532134729

Genres:  Blues  

  • Description

    His sixth album for Stony Plain, 'Spread The Love' consists of 14 instrumental tracks, soaked through with energy, passion, drive, serious grooves - and the deepest respect for his mentors and affection for his huge extended family, which includes thousands of fans around the world.

    Almost all the material is written by Earl and his band members, except for a razor-sharp version of Albert Collins's, 'Backstroke', plus Kenny Burrell's classic 'Chitlins Con Carne' and a spiritual reading of 'Cristo Redentor'.

    Once again, Earl seems to have 'upped' his guitar playing. With his long time band - The Broadcasters (formed in 1988) - he has created a varied mix of blues, jazz and soul, all marked by his distinctive intense guitar style and the passionate conviction he brings to every track.

    Ronnie Earl has played with such greats as Carlos Santana, Eric Clapton, Stevie Ray Vaughan, and The Allman Brothers as well as many of the musicians who inspired him early on, including Muddy Waters, Otis Rush, Big Walter Horton and B.B. King. He was a member of Roomful Of Blues from 1979-1988.

    Ronnie is a two-time W.C. Handy Blues Award winner as Guitar Player of The Year.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Backstroke
      • 2. Blues For Dr. Donna
      • 3. Chitlins Con carne
      • 4. Cristo Redentor
      • 5. Happy
      • 6. Patience
      • 7. Miracle
      • 8. Spann's Groove
      • 9. Skyman
      • 10. Blues For Slim
      • 11. Tommy's Midnight Blues
      • 12. Eleventh Step To Heaven
      • 13. Ethan's Song
      • 14. Blues For Bill