Been Alone So Long (The Naked Songs - Tour, Bremen 1985)

Peter Hammill

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: MIG03092

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  26 April 2024

Label:  Mig Music

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  885513030924

Genres:  Rock  Progressive Rock  

  • Description

    Unique live recording from the Schauburg, Bremen (Germany) from 08 March 1985 - With his haunting voice and profound lyrics, Peter Hammill is a master of his craft and "The Naked Songs Tour 1985" is an impressive testament to his musical prowess - Fans will appreciate the opportunity to hear their favorite songs in a new light, while new listeners will have the chance to discover the creative genius of this exceptional artist. Alongside his involvement in the commercially very successful progressive art rock band Van Der Graaf Generator, Briton Peter Hammill began an extremely productive solo career that continues to this day, partly with the support of various VdGG musicians.

    Hammill enjoyed experimenting with different styles and forms of musical expression that went far beyond the genre of rock music. After years of touring with his K-Group since the early 1980s, Hammill went on an extensive solo tour in 1985, covering 24 cities across Europe, with the motto: "The Naked Songs". Hammill alone on stage, with his instruments and his songs, he and the audience. Peter remembers: "I was, indeed, trying to strip things right down to their essence, to show and react with the material in its simplest state. The performances were, in a way, turning more into themselves rather than blasting out with bombast."

    Now the historic recordings from Radio Bremen, lovingly restored and mastered, are available on CD with great liner notes by the artist in the booklet.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Just Good Friends
      • 2. My Room (Waiting For Wonderland)
      • 3. Time Heals
      • 4. Labour Of Love
      • 5. Stranger Still
      • 6. Time For A Change
      • 7. Out Of My Book
      • 8. Modern

      Disc 2

      • 1. The Comet, The Course, The Tail
      • 2. Patient
      • 3. The Future Now
      • 4. Mr. X
      • 5. The Lie
      • 6. Still Life
      • 7. Been Alone So Long