Format: CD

Cat No: NEOS12418

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  26 July 2024

Label:  Neos

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4260063124181

Genres:  Classical  Contemporary Classical  

  • Description

    "The luminosity, lucidity, tenderness and humour of Emily Dickinson's poetry , which inspired these compositions, are messages that allow me to go beyond the living silence of the earth and our inner world, which never die. These works express the relationship between the morphology of sound and light, sound and physical gesture. The writing of light and shadows co-exists with that of the instrumental in several pieces. The two are inseparable and live within each other. They unite in physical light and spatialised sound.

    My music is often like the door of a house that is always open for others to enter and share. My work leaves room for all the other arts, and it is also a space for reflection and imagination. These bagatelles can be easily broken down, expanded, recomposed, moved, regrouped, superimposed and can cohabitate with other (pieces) [...]. We have a thousand facets. Music also offers a thousand possibilities. My music is an element among all the phenomena of nature. An element without limit in time or space, capable of harmonizing a moment of life, in the right circumstances. By proposing the same piece in different circumstances, it often generates a new perception of listening. [...]" - LIAO Lin-Ni

    Born in 1977 in Taipei (Taiwan), LIAO Lin-Ni began her training in piano at the age of four. In 2000, she obtained her degree in composition at the National Taiwan Normal University. During her post-graduate work, she studied with Yoshihisa Taira at the Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris and received in 2003 her Higher Diploma Degree in Composition before becoming the disciple of Allain Gaussin and Philippe Leroux. In 2019, she was selected by the CDMC (Centre de documentation de musique contemporaine) as one of 53 women composers representing 21st century music in the book Compositrice - l'egalite en act (Ed. MF).

    LIAO Lin-Ni received a doctorate in musicology from Sorbonne University and is currently a chercheuse associee at the Institut de recherche en Musicologie. Since 2011, she has been the artistic director of TPMC (Tout Pour la Musique Contemporaine).

    Her music is the result of synesthesia with light, which evokes the nobility of breathing and silence. Her works summon nature in symbiosis with time and space. They exist between physical and musical gestures, between the visual and the auditory - particularly in TTy for large tam-tam, Time of Trees I & II for gestures by two pianists and shadows, Look back on time with kindly eyes and one bird, one tree... for ensemble.

    LIAO Lin-Ni's works are published by Maison ONA, Paris.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. LIAO Lin-Ni: one bird, one tree... - bagatelle 5
      • 2. p. 53 - bagatelle 4
      • 3. TTy - bagatelle a
      • 4. one bird, one tree... - bagatelle 1
      • 5. The Wind could wait without the gate...
      • 6. TTy - bagatelle d
      • 7. p. 53 - bagatelle 3
      • 8. one bird, one tree... - bagatelle 3
      • 9. TTy - bagatelle b
      • 10. p. 53 - bagatelle 1
      • 11. Poussiere dans le vent
      • 12. The Wind could wait without the gate...
      • 13. one bird, one tree... - bagatelle 2
      • 14. Le train de la vie I - LR
      • 15. TTy - bagatelle c
      • 16. and if we put dreams behind us...
      • 17. TTy - bagatelle e
      • 18. one bird, one tree... - bagatelle 4