Sounds Of Cycle

Cenk Guray's Baroque Miniatures

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: FY8273

Release Date:  04 August 2023

Label:  Felmay

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  885016827328

Genres:  World Music  Middle East  

  • Description

    Felmay Records is glad to announce the new releaseby Cenk Guray's Baroque Miniatures -Sounds of Cycle - (Circulating Melodies between East and West). This Cd was designed and performed to show how close the Eastern and Western worlds horizon,purged of their historical and cultural limits in a perspective that places human feelings at the centre, share a common cultural memory. Overcoming the habitual space-time coordinates, here is side by side in a tracklist in which transcriptions by the Armenian composer Komitas appear along with traditional folk tunes collected in various parts of the Anatolian peninsula and baroque compositions by authors such as Handel and St. Colombe. The result is a homogeneous album that in each track highlights a communicative immediacy, an accessibility rareIn recordings so sophisticated.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Sessiz
      • 2. Gavotte-Monsieur de St. Colombe
      • 3. Halay for Gomidas
      • 4. Pavane-Gaspar Sanz
      • 5. Kizil Kartal Zeybegi
      • 6. Abdal Havasi
      • 7. Keskin Halayi
      • 8. Les Pleurs-Monseniur St. Colombe
      • 9. Requiem
      • 10. Yagmur Yagdi Zeybegi
      • 11. Minuet in G Minor-G.F. Handel
      • 12. Yar Yare Karsi