The Deceivers


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: 160772

Release Date:  03 May 2024

Label:  Metal Blade Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  039841607727

Genres:  Hard Rock & Metal  

  • Description

    Lauded experimental death metal band D??th has emerged from its 13-year hiatus with a new album, The Deceivers, at once a devastating reminder and giant leap forward that showcases the technical wizardry and brutal intensity that the Atlanta, Georgia-bred band is capable of.

    After 12 years on hiatus, D??th found their ideal new home at Metal Blade, signing to the label and wasting no time creating new music, cover songs (Death's "The Philosopher" and Morbid Angel's "Where the Slime Live") and reissuing previous albums. The first new song from the revitalized D??th, "No Rest No End" (released ahead of the album in February, 2023), features guest solos by Spiro Dussias and now-Daath member Trujillo, who impressed Levi so much while guesting on the track that he was invited to join the band. Metal Injection called the song "massive," with Sean Z. saying, "The first time I heard 'No Rest No End' in demo form, I was blown away! I immediately knew exactly what I wanted to do vocally. The words practically flew off the page. During every step of the creation process, the song was an obvious masterpiece."

    The band began their journey in 1999 and stayed busy for just over a decade before its 2011 hiatus. In that time, D??th released four studio albums-2004's Futility, The Hinderers in 2007, The Concealers in 2009, and their self-titled LP in 2010. Tours with Cattle Decapitation, Dark Funeral, Cynic, Nile, Slayer, Dragonforce, Goatwhore, Chimaira, Dying Fetus, and Devildriver followed. D??th also landed a coveted spot on Ozzfest playing before tens of thousands of fans in outdoor amphitheaters across the US, in addition to the infamous and long-running metal tour Summer Slaughter.

    Levi believes this is the most focused and deadly version of D??th to date, and is excited about what's in store. "The chemistry is great, because we can talk about stuff that would normally be uncomfortable for a lot of musicians to do without causing problems," he says. He's lived a lot of life since the band went away over a decade ago and admits that his mindset is very different now than it was during the original run. "We're taking this to its full potential, letting nothing and nobody stand in our way," Levi concludes. "If you're not going all out, what's the point?"

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. No Rest No End (feat. Spiro Dussias)
      • 2. Hex Unending (feat Dan Sugarman and Ice Nine Kills)
      • 3. Ascension (feat. Dean Lamb and Archspire)
      • 4. With Ill Desire
      • 5. The Silent Foray (feat. Per Nilsson & Scar Symmetry)
      • 6. Unwelcome Return (feat. Spiro Dussias)
      • 7. Purified by Vengeance (feat. Mark Holcomb and Mick Gordon)
      • 8. Deserving of the Grave (feat. Jeff Loomis)
      • 9. Into Forgotten Dirt

Liquid error (sections/featured-collection-pmc-genre line 91): comparison of String with 1 failed