Arne: Organ Concertos

Andrzej Szadejko, Goldberg Baroque Ensemble

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: SACD

Cat No: MDG90223176

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  14 June 2024

Label:  MDG

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  760623231761

Genres:  Classical  Classical  

  • Description

    Thomas Arne, prolific creator of operas, oratorios, concertos, sinfonias and sonatas unjustly overshadowed by the works of Georg Friedrich Handel, is most famous for "Rule, Britannia!" outside his native England today. This recording of his virtuosic organ concertos (which surpass Handel's organ concertos in their artistry), will rectify that. Andrzej Szadejko, accompanied by the Goldberg Baroque Ensemble, delivers a brilliant performance on the authentic Rohde organ from 1761 - the first recording since its reconstruction in 2020.

    The Johann Friedrich Rohde organ in St John's Church in Gdansk is ideal for the wonderful elegance and lightness of the music from the second half of the 18th century. The instrument, extensively documented as one of the most modern at the time of its construction, became amodel for many others in Europe.

    The Second World War saw the Rhode organ's complete destruction save its facade and so it lay silent for 77 years. Using historical examples and traditional craftsmanship, Guido Schumacher (Eupen, Belgium) and Szymon Januszkiewicz (Pruszcz Gdanski, Poland) in close cooperation with Andrzej Szadejko brought this magnificent instrument back to life.

    The organ's thirty stops offer an incredibly colourful tonal palette, perfect for the differentiated shaping of the middle dynamic range that is so characteristic of the galant style. The minuets especially showcase the elegance and light-heartedness of classical court dance. The festive Baroque pomp of the majestic organo pleno combined with the rich orchestral sound radiate a vibrant energy throughout the Gothic cathedral, captured in MDG's original three dimensional 2+2+2 recording technique.

    "Andrzej Szadejko […] lends everything a swift uplift and zest in the faster movements, and brings out the organ's rich and mellow tones within the slow movements. The Goldberg Baroque Ensemble […] generate and project an authentically baroque sound that pairs exceptionally well with the sound of the pipe organ." – Classical Music Sentinel

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Thomas Augustine Arne: Organ Concertos: Concerto No.5 in G Minor: I. Largo
      • 2. II. Allegro con spirito
      • 3. III. Adagio
      • 4. IV. Vivace
      • 5. Concerto No. 6 in B-Flat Major: I. Allegro moderato
      • 6. II. Ad libitum. Veloce
      • 7. III. Allegro
      • 8. IV. Minuetto
      • 9. Concerto No. 2 in G Major: I. Allegro
      • 10. II. Slow
      • 11. III. Moderato
      • 12. IV. Allegro
      • 13. V. Giga: Allegro con spirito
      • 14. Concerto No. 4 in B-Flat Major: I. Con spirito
      • 15. II. Minuetto
      • 16. III. Giga moderato
      • 17. Concerto No.1 in C Major: I. Largo ma con spirito
      • 18. II. Andante
      • 19. III. Allegro
      • 20. IV. Minuetto