New Strategies For Modern Crime Vol. 1

Prefuse 73

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: LEX180CD1

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  28 June 2024

Label:  Lex Records

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  878390009831

Genres:  Electronic  Jazz  

  • Description

    Pioneering electronic musician, composer and producer: Prefuse 73 aka Guillermo Scott Herren announces his new album, New Strategies for Modern Crime Vol. 1, His first new album since 2018's Sacrifices, New Strategies for Modern Crime Vol. 1 sees Herren delving further into his ground breaking take on experimental hip-hop through orchestrated arrangements via the optic of the media's sensationalism of crime, blended with influences from lost soundtracks, musique concrete, jazz and beat-tape music to create something wholly unique.

    Speaking about the new project's unlikely inspiration, Herren reflects:
    "I've lived in NYC since the 90s but I think during the post-Covid era, most "media" has become obsessed with crime statistics and inflated 'fear' over basic human needs. I wanted to channel this surreal landscape - where crime has become a strange form of entertainment and journalistic distraction into sound."

    Throughout his career, Prefuse 73 has collaborated with a diverse array of artists, including MF Doom, Ghostface Killah, GZA, El-P, Sam Prekop, Helado Negro, and more. His work reflects a constant evolution, with each album offering a new perspective on the intersection of electronic and hip-hop music.

    Prefuse 73's impact on the electronic music scene extends beyond his discography; he has inspired a generation of producers to embrace experimentation and challenge conventional norms. Guillermo Scott Herren's artistic journey continues to evolve, leaving an indelible mark on the landscape of contemporary electronic music.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Forever Chase (scene one)
      • 2. A Lord Without Jewels
      • 3. Clean Up Scene Apprentice
      • 4. The End of Air
      • 5. She Needs No Introduction
      • 6. Onboard, Overboard
      • 7. Fare La Corna
      • 8. Full Recollection
      • 9. Lullabyes And Awakenings
      • 10. Empath Lords
      • 11. Desperate Demise
      • 12. Wrong Suspect