Secret Evil

Jessica Hernandez & The Deltas

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: INS000062

Release Date:  14 August 2015

Label:  The Orchard (instant / Instant Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  0885150340547

Genres:  Rock  

  • Description

    Jessica Hernandez & The Deltas have arrived at last with their long awaited European debut, 'Secret Evil'.

    The album follows their well received 'Caught Up' EP and sees the Detroit-based band serving up a brilliantly polyglot sonic stew - equal parts rockabilly and surf pop, cabaret jazz and funky reggae, Latin psych and Gypsy punk - all cooked up on the hot Motor City pavement and seasoned by that distinctly Detroit combination of blasted R&B, showband theatrics and limitless rock 'n' soul energy.

    Songs like 'Caught Up' and the syncopated 'No Place Left To Hide' showcase Hernandez's unstoppable vocals and breadth of musical ambition, braiding contemporary pop thrills with an original and unmistakable creative persona all her own.

    'Secret Evil' is fresh, focused and surprising, and a remarkable debut album from an indescribably compelling new band.

    Jessica and her Deltas' initial EP earned them a bounty of critical hosannas, with PopMatters hailing it as "an accomplished document that proves the band deserves all the hype they've been garnering." Yet it is 'Secret Evil' that truly reveals all the many hues in Hernandez's 120-count box of crayons.

    Despite its vintage, the album is in fact so contemporary one would be forgiven for assuming it was recorded two years from now. Songs like 'Over' and the rollicking 'Sorry I Stole Your Man' crank like Wanda Jackson fronting The Seeds in an Acapulco dive bar, The Deltas busting out their wicked blend of girl group melodies, driving arrangements and infectious energy.

    A self-described storyteller at heart, Hernandez chronicles her personal trials and triumphs throughout 'Secret Evil', all in the hope of touching a truly universal chord.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. No Place Left To Hide
      • 2. Sorry I Stole Your Man
      • 3. Cry Cry Cry
      • 4. Dead Brains
      • 5. Tired Oak
      • 6. Over
      • 7. Caught Up
      • 8. Neck Tattoo
      • 9. Run Run Run
      • 10. Downtown Man
      • 11. Lovers First
      • 12. Gone Two Seconds
      • 13. Demons
      • 14. Don't Take My Man To Idaho