Ella & Louis - Complete Small Group Studio Recordings ()

Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2LP

Cat No: 4636LP

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Format Details:

Release Date:  21 June 2024

Label:  Jazz Wax

Packaging Type:  Gate Fold Vinyl

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  8435723701217

Genres:  Jazz  

  • Description

    2LP limited edition - gatefold sleeve - 180g vinyl audiophile pressing. Although both Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong had met and performed together previously, they wouldn't be heard on record together until January 18, 1946, when they waxed a single 78-rpm disc ("You Won't Be Satisfied) for Decca. They went on to record a few more singles together until in 1956 when producer Norman Granz paired the two together between 1956 and 1957 on three albums that were both critically acclaimed and commercial successes - appealing to audiences in and beyond the confines of jazz per se: Ella & Louis, its sequel Ella & Louis Again, and the selection of songs from George Gershwin's opera Porgy & Bess.

    While Porgy & Bess was recorded with a big band, the first two albums (featured in this release) were made in small group formats with the great Oscar Peterson Trio plus drummers Buddy Rich or Louie Bellson, resulting in some of the most fascinating jazz and popular music ever produced.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Can't We Be Friends
      • 2. Isn't This A Lovely Day?
      • 3. Moonlight In Vermont
      • 4. They Can't Take That Away From Me
      • 5. Under A Blanket Of Blue
      • 6. Tenderly

      Side 2

      • 1. A Foggy Day
      • 2. Stars Fell On Alabama
      • 3. Cheek To Cheek
      • 4. The Nearness Of You
      • 5. April In Paris

      Disc 2

      Side 1

      • 1. Don't Be That Way
      • 2. They All Laughed
      • 3. Autumn In New York
      • 4. Stompin' At The Savoy
      • 5. I Won't Dance
      • 6. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm

      Side 2

      • 1. Gee, Baby, Ain't I Good To You?
      • 2. Let's Call The Whole Thing Off
      • 3. I'm Puttin' All My Eggs In One Basket
      • 4. A Fine Romance
      • 5. Love Is Here To Stay
      • 6. Learnin' The Blues