The Girl From Ipanema

Antonio Carlos Jobim

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: 709104

Release Date:  09 February 2024

Label:  Jazz Samba

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  8436563184925

Genres:  Jazz  

  • Description

    180-GRAM VIRGIN VINYL - THE COMPLETE ALBUM + 4 BONUS TRACKS. The Girl from Ipanema was the first album by Antonio Carlos Jobim and features a dozen instrumentals arranged by Claus Ogerman, whose work would mark the beginning of a lifelong musical relationship with Jobim.

    Of the album's twelve songs, almost all are jazz standards. The opening track The Girl from Ipanema is believed to be the second most recorded song in history, the first being The Beatles' Yesterday.

    The album was inducted into the Latin Grammy Hall of Fame in 2001. In 2007, Rolling Stone Brasil ranked it number 58 in "The 100 greatest Brazilian music records".

    "If the bossa nova movement had produced nothing more than this album, it would have been more than justified. I cannot recommend this album highly enough and only wish there were more stars to award it." - DOWN BEAT (Pete Welding), 5 STARS.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Garota De Ipanema [The Girl From Ipanema]
      • 2. Amor Em Paz [Once I Loved]
      • 3. Agua De Beber
      • 4. Vivo Sonhando [Dreamer]
      • 5. O Morro Nao Tem Vez [Favela]
      • 6. Insensatez [How Insensitive]
      • 7. Corcovado [Quiet Nights]
      • 8. Desafinado

      Side 2

      • 1. Corcovado [Quiet Nights]
      • 2. Samba De Uma Nota So [One Note Samba]
      • 3. Meditacao [Meditation]
      • 4. So Danco Samba [Jazz Samba]
      • 5. Chega De Saudade
      • 6. Desafinado
      • 7. Meditacao [Meditation]
      • 8. Insensatez [How Insensitive]