Did You Get Better (Ice Blue Vinyl, 45rpm )

Babe Report

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: LPEIS135C

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Format Details: Ice Blue Vinyl, 45rpm

Release Date:  28 June 2024

Label:  Exploding In Sound Records

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  843563175491

Genres:  Indie  

  • Description

    With a squall of guitar and a crash of drums, two years on from the release of their exhilarating debut EP, Chicago noisemakers Babe Report finally release their debut album in 2024, in the form of the rough-and-ready Did You Get Better, released this Spring via Exploding In Sound - Formed of ten new songs, and all wrapped in under half an hour, it's an immediate and breathless arrival.

    Opening track 'Turtle of Reaper' arrives in a flurry of noise and energy. Presented as an indictment of the fear-mongering in click-bait media, it's a cacophonous two-minutes of scorched vocals and frenetic drums, the chorus a call back to 12/31/99, when all the news told people to turn off their computers before Y2K hit.

    'Universal' offers something somewhat more refined, with occasional moments of restraint amid the commotion that arrives in a hardy whack of heavy riffs. "This one is all about climbing up onto your neighbor's back to succeed," the band explain. "Most aspects of life are not a zero-sum game, but when they are, it feels ethically wrong to win."

    Elsewhere, 'Allergy 2000' is the album's weighty centre-point, characterized by its soaring guitar lead line and stifled, murky vocals what might have started out as an experiment in writing a Yo La Tengo song soon comes into its own with a rabid tempo shift that feels indicative of the album's fervent nature, never allowing the listener to rest on their laurels.

    However it finds you or you find it, Did You Get Better finds a way to take the reins, ploughing headfirst into its journey and rarely looking back for approval, to even worry if anyone else is joining for the ride.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Turtle Of Reaper
      • 2. Universal
      • 3. Freak On A Lease
      • 4. Secular Mantis
      • 5. Voidreader
      • 6. Allergy 2000

      Side 2

      • 1. Ocean
      • 2. Jane
      • 3. Kathleen
      • 4. Bite My Lip