Durufle: Requiem; Poulenc: Lenten Motets

The Choir of Trinity College Cambridge / Stephen Layton

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA68436

Release Date:  01 March 2024

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571284361

Genres:  Classical  Choral  

  • Description

    One of the twentieth century's best-loved choral works, Duruflé's Requiem—a magical synthesis of the old (plainsong) and the new (a harmonic language appropriate to its time and place)—continues to cast its potent spell over performers and listeners alike.

    This new recording from Stephen Layton and his Trinity forces fully deserves to be regarded as 'definitive'.

    Anthems, Vol 1 CDA68434 (works by Elgar, SS Wesley, Howells, Spicer) "A deeply satisfying mixture......I cannot wait to hear Vol 2." - Gramophone Magazine

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Requiem, Op 9 I. Introit
      • 2. II. Kyrie
      • 3. III. Domine Jesu Christe
      • 4. IV. Sanctus
      • 5. V. Pie Jesu
      • 6. VI. Agnus Dei
      • 7. VII. Lux aeterna
      • 8. VIII. Libera me
      • 9. IX. In paradisum
      • 10. Quatre motets pour un temps de penitence I. Timor et tremor
      • 11. II. Vinea mea electa
      • 12. III. Tenebrae factae sunt
      • 13. IV. Tristis est anima mea