Liege & Lief

Fairport Convention

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: UMCLP049

Release Date:  14 July 2023

Label:  Proper Records

Packaging Type:  Gate Fold Vinyl

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  805520240499

Genres:  Folk  Folk-Rock  

  • Description

    The trajectory that Fairport Convention took in the space of four albums and two years is one of the most remarkable in British popular music - these records contain some of the most storied names not just in British, but world music.
    From a bunch of school friends setting out to be 'the British Jefferson Airplane', over the course of their first quartet of releases, the group metamorphosed into the leading exponents of British folk rock. In the way American folk and blues had looked back to gospel songs and spirituals, Fairport mined a seam a traditional English folk song, and then combined them with rock rhythms to create something ground-breaking and quickly emulated. For many, this is the frst time the considerable talents of Richard Thompson, Sandy Denny, Ashley Hutchings, Ian Matthews, Dave Swarbrick and Dave Mattacks would have been heard on record

    In May 1969, the band were involved in a fatal car accident which killed their drummer Martin Lamble and Thompson's girlfriend, Jeannie Franklyn. In a state of obvious shock, Fairport decided to carry on, making Swarbrick a permanent member and adding drummer Dave Mattacks. Ashley Hutchings submerged himself in traditional British music and, as a result, fourth album Liege And Lief contained five traditional tracks, and three originals in the folk style. It established the template that Fairport would follow and is one of the most influential albums in British rock. The eight- minute masterpiece Matty Groves built On A Sailor's Life and gave Fairport another long-lasting anthem. By the time the album was released, Sandy Denny and Ashley Hutchings had both left the group, and another chapter was to begin.

    Fairport Convention are still playing to this very day, still with original member Simon Nicol in the line- up. Their annual Cropredy Festival has become a reassuring landmark in the UK concert calendar - and many of these songs here feature in their set today.

    This re-issue faithfully replicates the original 1969 Island Records UK release with gatefold sleeve and is pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Come All Ye
      • 2. Reynardine
      • 3. Matty Groves
      • 4. Farewell, Farewell

      Side 2

      • 1. The Deserter
      • 2. Medley: The Lark In The Morning; Rakish Paddy; Foxhunter's Jig; Toss The Feathers
      • 3. Tam Lin
      • 4. Crazy Man Michael