Toshio Hosokawa: Works For Saxophone

Ilse Eerens, Tomoko Kasai, Mayumi Miyata, Masanori Oishi, Saori Oya, Naoko Yoshino

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: KAI0022040

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  07 June 2024

Label:  Kairos Re ords

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  9120010286407

Genres:  Classical  Contemporary Classical  

  • Description

    "The music of Toshio Hosokawa invites us on a poetic journey of knowledge he has made throughout his life by bringing the cultures of East and West into dialogue" - (Paco Yanez). From his fascination with the dynamic soundscapes of European orchestras to his immersion in the serene and intricate tapestries of traditional Japanese music, this album reflects Hosokawa's very unique music. Marked by its lyrical beauty and reverence for nature, he transforms the saxophone into a voice that transcends geographical and temporal boundaries, creating a dialogue between light and darkness, silence and sound.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Toshio Hosokawa: Three Essays, for soprano saxophone solo: I.
      • 2. II.
      • 3. III.
      • 4. Mei-an - Light and Darkness, for sho and tenor saxophone
      • 5. Three Love Songs, for soprano and alto saxophone
      • 6. A Dark Pass
      • 7. Memory
      • 8. Firefly
      • 9. Arc Song, for soprano saxophone and harp
      • 10. Vertical Time Study II, for tenor saxophone, piano and percussion