Oboe Concertos Of The Mannheim School

Kurt Meier; Howard Griffith; Royal Northern Sinfonia

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CHE02312

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  10 May 2024

Label:  Christophorus

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4010072023124

Genres:  Classical  Chamber Music  

  • Description

    For a few decades in the 18th century, Mannheim shone as a cultural Eldorado. Elector Carl Theodor built a huge palace in his residence at great financial expense and did not lack for anything musically: In a letter to his son Wolfgang in 1777, Leopold Mozart wrote about Mannheim, "from whose famous court the rays, as from the sun, spread through all of Germany, indeed through all of Europe". The Mannheim orchestra was famous for its top musicians and caused a furore with its so-called "Mannheimer Walze".

    Mannheim was also pioneering in the development of the oboe as a solo instrument, and one name in particular stands out here: the oboist Ludwig August Lebrun. The Mannheim oboe concertos presented in this recording were probably written for him by Holzbauer, de Winter and Eichner, and one of them was written by Lebrun himself.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Ludwig August Lebrun: Concerto No. 7 in F Major: I. Allegro
      • 2. II. Adagio
      • 3. III. Rondeau
      • 4. Ignaz Holzbauer: Concerto in D Minor: I. Allegro
      • 5. II. Largo Andante
      • 6. III. Allegro
      • 7. Peter von Winter: Concerto F Major (No. 2): I. Allegro
      • 8. II. Romance
      • 9. III. Rondo
      • 10. Ernst Eichner: Concerto in C Major: I. Allegro tempo giusto
      • 11. II. Adagio poco andante
      • 12. III. Rondo. Tempo di Minuetto, poco moderato