Bernardo Pasquini: Virtuoso Music For Two Harpsichords

Attilio Cremonesi; Alessandro De Marchi

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: GCDC80038

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  26 July 2024

Label:  Glossa

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  8424562800380

Genres:  Classical  Baroque  

  • Description

    Bernardo Pasquini (1637-1717) is especially known for his keyboard music, explained by the fact that he held the post of organist at the most important Roman churches: the Chiesa Nuova, Santa Maria Maggiore and finally at Santa Maria in Aracoeli, the church of the 'senate and the Roman people'.

    His keyboard music has survived essentially in two groups of largely autograph manuscripts, conserved respectively in Berlin and the British Library. The 14 Sonate a due cimbali form part of the latter collection, which is dated 1704.

    The Sonatas were conceived by Bernardo Pasquini as exercises for his pupils in the extemporized contrapuntal realization of a figured bass.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Bernardo Pasquini: Sonata I
      • 2. Sonata II
      • 3. Sonata III
      • 4. Sonata IV
      • 5. Sonata V
      • 6. Sonata VI
      • 7. Sonata VII
      • 8. Sonata VIII
      • 9. Sonata IX
      • 10. Sonata X
      • 11. Sonata XI
      • 12. Sonata XII
      • 13. Sonata XIII
      • 14. Sonata XIV