C.p.e. Bach & C.f. Abel - Sonatas For Viola Da Gamba & Fortepiano

Rebeka Ruso; Sebastian Wienand

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CHE02322

Release Date:  26 April 2024

Label:  Christophorus

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4010072023223

Genres:  Classical  Baroque  

  • Description

    The era of the viola da gamba had already largely come to an end with Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach's early classical period, but the composer nevertheless dedicated three wonderful sonatas to this instrument. The fortepiano, which is used for the accompaniment (and also appears as the obbligato instrument in the Sonata in G minor), was only at the beginning of its great development. Bach's sonatas are complemented by two works by his contemporary Carl Friedrich Abel, who is regarded as the last virtuoso of the viola da gamba.

    The combination of viola da gamba and fortepiano offers a marvellous charm and does justice to the rich nuances of this music between the baroque and classical periods. The sensitive interpretation by Rebeka Ruso and Sebastian Wienand further enhances the appeal of this remarkable music.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. C.P.E. Bach: Sonate WQ 137: I. Adagio ma non troppo
      • 2. II. Allegro di molto
      • 3. III. Arioso
      • 4. Sonate WQ 88: I. Allegro moderato
      • 5. II. Larghetto
      • 6. III. Allegro assai
      • 7. Sonate WQ 136: I. Andante
      • 8. II. Allegretto
      • 9. III. Arioso
      • 10. C.F. Abel: Solostucke D major: Allegro, WK 186
      • 11. (ohne Satzbezeichnung), WK 187)
      • 12. Vivace, WK 190
      • 13. Sonate WK 150: I. Siciliano
      • 14. II. Allegro
      • 15. III. Presto