Musica Antigua - Early Music From The Cathedral Of Las Palmas De Gran Canaria

Capilla del Real de Las Palmas

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: NEOS32401-02

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Format Details:

Release Date:  12 July 2024

Label:  Neos Classics / Neos

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  4260063324017

Genres:  Classical  Baroque  

  • Description

    For this double CD, the Capilla del Real de Las Palmas has recorded works by the chapel masters Francisco Hernandez (16th-17th century), Diego Duron (1658-1731) and Joaquin Garcia (1710-1779). In addition Vicent Bru has recorded works for keyboard instruments by Sebastian Aguilera de Heredia (1561-1627) and Pablo Bruna (1611-1679).

    From the very beginning, the Cathedral of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria had its own music chapel. The various chapel masters who worked here compiled a vast body of works which in the course of time evolved into the current Music Archive of the Canary Islands' Cathedral. The oldest surviving books date back to 1514. In 1518, Maestro Juan Ruiz from Seville took over all duties: he was both organist and cantor and rehearsed with the choir. Unfortunately, no compositions by this master or his successors until the end of the century have survived; together with the organ pipes and the church bells they were lost during the attack by the Dutch army under Admiral Van der Does in 1599. During the first three years of the 17th century, the population suffered from an epidemic which also claimed the life of chapel master Francisco de la Cruz.

    The Capilla del Real de Las Palmas was founded in 2009 by Carlos Oramas, Isabel Alvarez and Vicent Bru in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. The ensemble specialises in the rediscovery, transcription and performance of religious music composed by the chapel masters of Las Palmas Cathedral and held in the cathedral's music archive. Over the years, the ensemble has performed several concerts with unpublished programmes and has recorded villancicos by the composers Diego Duron and Joaquin Garcia. The members of the ensemble have extensive experience in the field of Early Music.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Francisco Hernandez: Trinad, jilguerillos
      • 2. Diego Duron: Tortola apacible
      • 3. Canta; no cantes, jilguero
      • 4. Paxarito que buelas
      • 5. Dejate ver, Dios mio
      • 6. O, quien fuera jilguerillo
      • 7. Airecillos de Belen
      • 8. Ay, que te miro
      • 9. Sebastian Aguilera de Heredia: Vajo de 1" tono

      Disc 2

      • 1. Joaquin Garcia: Misa a 8 voces - I. Kyrie
      • 2. II. Gloria
      • 3. III. Credo
      • 4. IV. Sanctus
      • 5. V. Agnus dei
      • 6. Pablo Bruna: Tiento de dos tiples de 6* tono
      • 7. Joaquin Garcia: Magnificat, a 8 voces
      • 8. Pablo Bruna: Tiento de medio registro bajo de 8* tono
      • 9. Joaquin Garcia: Hoy el amor fabrica
      • 10. Poder de Dios
      • 11. Devotos amantes