Josef Krips Edition - Volume 2

Josef Krips; Various Orchestras

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 21CD

Cat No: ELQ4844829

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  07 June 2024

Label:  Australian Eloquence

Packaging Type:  Box Set

No of Units:  21

Barcode:  0028948448296

Genres:  Classical  Orchestral  

  • Description

    Mozart was Josef Krips's yardstick in music: 'My maxim is that everything has to sound as though it were by Mozart, or it will be a bad performance.'

    Collected here in a LIMITED EDITION box are his Mozart symphony recordings with the Concertgebouworkest for Philips (1972-73), including a rehearsal sequence for Symphony No 33, as well as the celebrated 1955 Vienna Don Giovanni for Decca. These are surrounded by the rare 'live' recording of Mahler's Das Lied von der Erde, his stereo Decca recordings of symphonies by Haydn, Schubert, Schumann, Brahms and Tchaikovsky, and a previously unpublished overture by Weber. The recordings cover a span of 19 years, 1955 to 1973, and are organised by the cities in which they were recorded: London, Vienna, Amsterdam and Tel Aviv in this 21 CD box set.

    By the time stereo technology had become standard in the mid-1950s, Josef Krips had built an impressive recorded legacy for Decca documented in a companion set of mono recordings from Eloquence (Josef Krips Edition - Volume 1). Decca captured the conductor in several stereo remakes of canon repertoire - the last two symphonies of Schubert, Schumann's Fourth, the 'Haffner' and 'Jupiter' of Mozart - always with something deeper and wiser to say about repertoire which he had been exploring for 40 years and more, affording absorbing comparisons with his mono versions.

    Also located in the Decca archive was a stereo recording of Weber's Oberon Overture, now published for the first time. With the Vienna Symphony Orchestra we have a live recording of Mahler's Das Lied von der Erde with star soloists Fritz Wunderlich and Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau.Too little of Krips's work outside the Austro-German canon was preserved on record, as the beautifully moulded shape and definition of his 1958 Vienna Philharmonic version of Tchaikovsky's Fifth demonstrates.

    You would easily guess from it that Mozart was Krips's yardstick in music, and for Philips he finally made a thorough-going survey of the mid-period and mature symphonies, from No. 21 onwards, which he had performed throughout his life. When released in France in harness with the early symphonies led by Marriner, the set included Krips leading a rehearsal sequence of Symphony No. 33 with his characteristically affable authority, and this has been released internationally for the first time on CD. As for the symphonies themselves, Krips sustains them with a natural warmth and breathing pulse that has always placed them in the top rank of 'traditional' performances. The conductor's legacy is addressed in a new essay by Niek Nelissen. Photos and original jackets evoke the 50s and 60s as much as Krips's music-making.


  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. LONDON: SCHUMANN Symphonies Nos. 1 & 4

      Disc 2

      • 1. SCHUBERT Symphony No. 9
      • 2. WEBER Overture: Oberon*

      Disc 3

      • 1. CDs 3-5 MOZART Don Giovanni

      Disc 4

      • 1. Opera and Concert Arias STRAUSS: Salome (Closing Scene)
      • 2. BEETHOVEN: Ah, Perfido!
      • 3. WEBER: Ozean! Du Ungeheuer! (Oberon)

      Disc 5

      • 1. HAYDN Symphonies Nos. 94 & 99

      Disc 6

      • 1. SCHUBERT Symphony No. 8
      • 2. EINEM Symphony No. 1

      Disc 7

      • 1. BRAHMS Symphony No. 1

      Disc 8

      • 1. MEMORIES OF VIENNA: J. Strauss II: An der schonen blauen Donau
      • 2. Accelerationen
      • 3. Kaiserwalzer
      • 4. Rosen aus dem Suden
      • 5. Fruhlingsstimmen (vocal version)
      • 6. J. Strauss II / Josef Strauss: Pizzicato Polka
      • 7. Josef Strauss: Dorfschwalben aus Osterreich (vocal version)

      Disc 9

      • 1. TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 5

      Disc 10

      • 1. MAHLER Das Lied von der Erde

      Disc 11

      • 1. AMSTERDAM: MOZART Symphonies Nos. 36 & 21

      Disc 12

      • 1. MOZART Symphonies Nos. 29, 27 & 22

      Disc 13

      • 1. MOZART Symphonies Nos. 30, 23 & 28

      Disc 14

      • 1. MOZART Symphonies Nos. 25, 24 & 26

      Disc 15

      • 1. MOZART Symphonies Nos. 38 & 31; Andante, K.297

      Disc 16

      • 1. MOZART Symphonies Nos. 32, 34 & 33
      • 2. Rehearsal for Symphony No. 33

      Disc 17

      • 1. MOZART Symphonies Nos. 39 & 40

      Disc 18

      • 1. MOZART Symphonies Nos. 41 & 35

      Disc 19

      • 1. TEL AVIV: MOZART Symphonies Nos. 41 & 35