Philip Chiu

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: ACD22844

Format Details:

Release Date:  12 April 2024

Label:  Atma Classique

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  722056284424

Genres:  Classical  Solo Instrumental  

  • Description

    Pianist de jour Philip Chiu presents Voyages, "a deeply personal album that represents a humble attempt to capture something elusive to me: a sense of belonging. Where do we belong? To whom do we belong? What belongs to us, what is ours simply because it was handed to us, and what is ours because we chose it?"

    Chiu offers no answers, only exploration consisting of "my reflections and musings channelled through the vivid music of Claude Debussy (Petite suite, Images, livre I, and Estampes) and Alice Ping Yee Ho (Hong Kong Nostalgia), along with beautiful artwork by Marie H. Sirois, as inspired by my own recollections, my family's story, and a teeny-tiny bit of whimsy", says Chiu.

    Philip Chiu is acclaimed for his brilliant pianism, sensitive listening, and a stage presence that eschews the hermit-pianist image and favours openness, authenticity and dialogue with audiences. Winner of the 2023 Juno for Best Classical Solo Album from his album Fables, and inaugural winner of the Mecenat Musica Prix Goyer, Chiu has become one of Canada's leading musicians through his infectious love of music and his passion for creation and communication.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Debussy: Petite suite, L. 65 I. En bateau
      • 2. II. Cortege
      • 3. III. Menuet
      • 4. IV. Ballet
      • 5. Images, livre 1, L. 110 I. Reflets dans l'eau
      • 6. II. Hommage a Rameau
      • 7. III. Mouvement
      • 8. Hong Kong Nostalgia I. Connaught Centre
      • 9. II. Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery
      • 10. III. Night Markets
      • 11. Estampes, L. 100 I. Pagodes
      • 12. II. La soiree dans Grenade
      • 13. III. Jardins sous la pluie