Amour Fou - Love Arias & Songs

Myriam Leblanc; Ensemble Mirabilia

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: ACD22893

Format Details:

Release Date:  12 April 2024

Label:  Atma Classique

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  722056289320

Genres:  Classical  Vocal  

  • Description

    With the album Amour fou, soprano Myriam Leblanc and Ensemble Mirabilia take us on a journey of love via arias and songs spanning more than 800 years.

    From Faure's poetic Au bord de l'eau to Jacques Brel's heartrending Ne me quitte pas and Barbara's Dis quand reviendras-tu?, Leblanc has gathered a bouquet of music depicting the most human of all sentiments. Amour fou also includes an aria from Vivaldi's cantata Amor hai vento, several old English songs by Thomas Campion, along with other vocal and instrumental treasures.

    With her "resplendent vocal purity" (Le Devoir), Leblanc conveys a range of emotions that often accompany love, including turmoil, despair, and sweet sorrow. She evokes sensual love in songs whose eroticism is barely veiled by metaphors, as well as serene, contemplative love. Soprano Myriam Leblanc has garnered rave reviews for her performances. Music critic Christophe Huss declared, "she is one of the most beautiful voices, perhaps the most beautiful, to have emerged from the Quebec talent pool in the last ten years" (Samedi et rien d'autre, ICI Premiere, RadioCanada).

    She is joined on this recording by Ensemble Mirabilia (Gregoire Jeay, flutes; Antoine Malette-Chenier; harp; Melisande Corriveau, viola da gamba, pardessus de viole), an ensemble she founded and which promotes baroque music performed on period instruments, and also occasionally explores music from earlier or more recent times.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Gabriel Faure: Au bord de l'eau, op. 8, no 1
      • 2. Claudio Monteverdi: L'incoronazione di Poppea, SV 308 Pur ti miro
      • 3. Vivaldi: Cantate Amo hai vinto RV651 II. Aria
      • 4. Michel Blavet: Airs serieux et a boire par Monsieur Bousset, XVIe Livre
      • 5. Jean-Philippe Rameau: Pieces de clavecin en concerts, Cinquieme Concert
      • 6. Barbara: Dis, quand reviendras-tu ?
      • 7. Christophe Ballard: Brunettes ou Petits airs tendres, avec les doubles et la basse-continue, meles de chansons a danser, Tome I
      • 8. Georg Friedrich Handel: Sonate pour flute no 2 en mi mineur, HWV 375, << Halle >>
      • 9. Thomas Campion: The Third and Fourth Book of Ayres
      • 10. Thomas Campion:
      • 11. John Bartlet: It Fell on a Summer's Day
      • 12. Carl Friedrich Abel: 27 pieces pour basse de viole - Le manuscrit Drexel 5871
      • 13. Claudio Monteverdi: Si dolce e'l tormento, SV 332
      • 14. Louis-Nicolas Clerambault: Recueil d'airs varies - Amour, cruel amour
      • 15. Jacques Brel: Ne me quitte pas
      • 16. Giuseppe Sammartin: Sonata quarta pour flute et basse continue
      • 17. Henry Purcell: I love and I must (Bell Barr), Z. 382
      • 18. Thomas Campion: When To Her Lute Corinna Sings
      • 19. Unknown: Bele Doette

Liquid error (sections/featured-collection-pmc-genre line 91): comparison of String with 1 failed