Beethoven: Violin Sonatas Nos 3, 7 & 8

Antje Weithaas & Denes Varjon

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: AVI8553535

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  01 December 2023

Label:  C-Avi

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4260085535354

Genres:  Classical  Chamber Music  

  • Description

    Within a very short time of about 10 years, Beethoven's technique of composing developed rapidly. The artists on this recording wanted to show the comparison between earlier and later pieces, and this is the basis of this new series of recordings. of Beethoven's Violin Sonatas on three volumes.

    ".....Weithaas and Varjon have a great deal to say and are not afraid to say it, but their focus of interest is always and emphatically Beethoven - not themselves." (MusicWeb Intern'l July 23)

    Both artists are highly in demand on a worldwide scale as unique, exceptional chamber music performers: Antje Weithaas and Denes Varjon each ideally combine the highest degree of enthusiasm and precision: their energetic, passionate playing is the result of intense concentration and precision, combined with a large portion of musicality.

    "In Antje Weithaas's und Denes Varjon's complete edition of these sonatas in three volumes, each individual release is designed to illustrate those stages of artistic development (instead of featuring the works in strict chronological order). From the onset, Beethoven ascribed utter importance to the principle of dialogue between the two instruments, as we can infer from a letter he wrote to Artaria on 19 June 1793.....

    The current Vol. 2 release contrasts the third sonata (in E Flat Major) of the early Op. 12 group with the second and third sonatas of Op. 30. The CD begins with the C Minor Sonata Op. 30, which is undoubtedly one of the two most dramatic sonatas among all ten works in the same genre (the other one being the "Kreutzer" Sonata Op. 47). The E Flat Major sonata is also the most dramatic one within Op. 12. On the other hand, the last sonata (G Major) in Op. 30 provides a contrast in the form of a cheerful "final dance" (Kehraus), a function it also fulfils on this CD in the wake of the E Flat Major Sonata Op. 12. " (Excerpt from the booklet notes by Elisabeth Richter)


    "it's the duo's ability to characterise so imaginatively that makes these interpretations especially satisfying. […] what stands out for me on this disc is the unstudied refinements of their playing as well as their appreciation of the music's subtleties. […] Weithaas and Varjon's cycle will be one to reckon with." – Gramophone

    "The Allegro con spirito of the Third Sonata – Op. 1 2 No 3 – is permeated by a bounding optimism which this pair nicely catch, and they bring out the poetry of the Adagio, darkening the piano's bass to let the violin sing out in a ghostly manner." – BBC Music Magazine

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Sonata for Piano and Violin No. 7 in C Minor, Op. 30 No. 2 - I. Allegro con brio
      • 2. II. Adagio cantabile
      • 3. III. Scherzo. Allegro
      • 4. IV. Finale. Allegro
      • 5. Sonata for Piano and Violin No. 3 in E flat Major, Op. 12 No. 3 - I. Allegro con spirito
      • 6. II. Adagio con molt'espressione
      • 7. III. Allegro molto
      • 8. Sonata for Piano and Violin No. 8 in G Major, Op. 30 No. 3 - I. Allegro assai
      • 9. II. Tempo di Minuetto
      • 10. III. Allegro vivace