English Drinking Songs

A.L. Lloyd

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TSCD496

Release Date:  18 June 2007

Label:  Topic

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  714822049627

Genres:  Folk  English Folk  

  • Description

    First released in 1961, these songs, sung by Bert Lloyd, are drinking songs in the best sense of the phrase; songs from the great British pub tradition. At the "Eel's Foot" pub on the gusty East coast of England, on a Saturday night, the farm-workers bring their songs and match them against the songs of the sailors and cattle-dealers and travelling tinsmiths. These are drinking songs, but not in the strict sense, not songs merely in praise of liquor, but songs that tell a bit of a story: "Songs as sly as a tinker's wink, as rough as a ploughman's hand, songs as sung and social as the Eel's Foot itself, with the wind and the rain outside and the firelight and the music within." - from the sleeve notes by A.L.Lloyd.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. The Derby Ram
      • 2. The Foggy Dew
      • 3. Maggie May
      • 4. When Johnson’s Ale Was New
      • 5. The Butcher & The Chambermaid
      • 6. A Jug Of Punch
      • 7. The Parson & The Maid
      • 8. Three Drunken Huntsman
      • 9. All For Me Grog
      • 10. The Drunken Maidens
      • 11. Rosin The Beau
      • 12. The Farmer’s Servant
      • 13. John Barleycorn
      • 14. A Jug Of This