This Time The Dream's On Us

Yuri Storioni, Dominik Schurmann & Jorge Rossy

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TCB36802

Release Date:  07 May 2021

Label:  TCB Jazz

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  725095368025

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    "This Time the Dream's on Me" is the name of Harold Arlen's 1941 song, which made it into the charts twice in the same year with none other than Glenn Miller and Woody Herman. It was composed for the film "Blues in the Night" with lyrics written by the famous singer and songwriter Johnny Mercer. and has been covered by many great artists over the years. Now we have a technically stupendous pianist, a classic jazz trio and an album title referring to the Great American Songbook.

    Pianist Yuri Storione excels in this endeavour by teaming up with two experienced musicians: the deliberate, steady and precise bassist Dominik Schurmann, and one of the world's best drummers, Jorge Rossy. The balance between the players is already expressed in the trio's name. Apart from the Arlen tune, another milestone in jazz history, Thelonious Monk's "Ruby My Dear" is the only other work from the Great American Songbook. The remaining ten compositions are Storione's and Schurmann's own creations – consistently melodic and, in their creative interplay brilliantly accented music — all of which reward the attentive listener with music that avoids all superficial gimmickry.

    The bass is strikingly elegant: Dominik Schurmann is a team player who, from soulful ballads to up-tempo tunes, maintains a clear, reliable beat and a gentle touch. He creates stirring melodic lines that contrast with the piano, and short solos that are as honest as they are clean and inspired. Jorge Rossy's contribution is an amazingly responsive, imaginative and sensitive drumming: it orders and underlines, decisively shapes, and in a restrained but effective manner accompanies his partners' solistic excursions. This, like his entire presence here, is truly invaluable.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Father And Son
      • 2. Violeta
      • 3. Happy Hour
      • 4. Ms. G. R.
      • 5. One For Doris
      • 6. This Time The Dream's On Me
      • 7. Sambale
      • 8. Ruby My Dear
      • 9. Viva Bud Powell!
      • 10. Iberica
      • 11. Lonely Owl
      • 12. Holding Line