The Rough Guide To Bollywood (Second Edition)

Various Artists

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: RGNET1179CD

Format Details: Second Edition

Release Date:  06 May 2013

Label:  World Music Network

Packaging Type:  DVD Case

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  9781906063740

Genres:  World Music  India & Pakistan  

  • Description

    Film remains king in India where cinemas are bursting with glamour and high drama, from tear-jerking storylines to complicated love trysts, all set to gloriously vibrant Bollywood musical grooves. This album features classics with unexpected twists and stylistic surprises that captivate and live long in the memory. Featuring a bonus Bollywood documentary DVD. 'Beats of the Heart - There'll Always Be Stars In The Sky', looks at the power and influence of Bollywood musicals within India, taking us behind the scenes to meet star actors and producers, such as the late Raj Kapoor and singers like the legendary Lata Mangeshkar, one of the most prolific recording artists in the world. We see top music directors, such as Kalyanji Anandji, at work, and are invited into recording sessions and onto the sets.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. R.D. Burman - Dance Music (I)
      • 2. Asha Bhosle - Dum Maro Dum Mit Jaye Gham
      • 3. Lata Mangeshkar - Raina Beeti Jaye
      • 4. Kumar Sanu - Ek Ladki Ko Dekha
      • 5. Lata Mangeshkar - Tere Bina Jiya
      • 6. Geeta Dutt - Mera Naam Chin Chin Chu
      • 7. Manna Dey - Yari Hai Imaan Mera
      • 8. Lata Mangeshkar - Dilbar Dil Se Pyare
      • 9. Asha Bhosle & Kishore Kumar - Aaya Hoon Main Tujhko Le Jaoonga
      • 10. Kavita Krishnamurthy - Pyar Hua Chupke Se
      • 11. Shamshad Begum, Mohd. Rafi, Manna Dey & Asha Bhosle - Dukh Bhare Din Beete Re Bhaiya
      • 12. R.D. Burman - Dance Music (II)
      • 13. Sonu Nigam - Phir Milenge Chalte Chalte

      Disc 2

      • 1. Beats of the Heart - There'll Always Be Stars in the Sky Bonus DVD