Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDFMG098

Release Date:  16 September 2022

Label:  Forward Music Group

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  688130668583

Genres:  Rock  Punk  

  • Description

    Motherhoods newest release, Winded, dives headlong into a narrative that explores the natural world as it mirrors human suffering. The avant-punk trio spin a yarn about navigating a straight line through a storm, "persevering—perhaps for no good reason." With colourful, hip-hop influenced lyrics floating over relentless, complex rhythms, Motherhood tackles heady metaphors with ease, whipping through sweet fuzz-pop, sludgy stomps and ragged breakneck punk to deliver a 9-track album that pulses, stings and washes over the listener.

    It was written in empty spaces, too—in shuttered local haunts during the pandemic lockdowns of 2020. Recorded in a small analog studio, Winded was mixed by Deerhoof's Greg Saunier, and features guest vocals from Les Hay Babies' Julie Aubé and Katrine Noël.

    Motherhood has been setting deep thoughts to rippin' music since they were kids, and their tireless boundary-pushing has built a catalogue brimming with bold experimental work. Winded, for all its turbulence, marks an evolutionary bloom for the band, and proves that, although they continue to shapeshift, they remain unmistakably and unwaveringly Motherhood.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Crawly I
      • 2. Crawly II
      • 3. Shepherd
      • 4. Tabletop
      • 5. Flood
      • 6. Ripped Sheet
      • 7. Handbrake
      • 8. Brakes Snap (demo)
      • 9. Shuttered Down
      • 10. Trees