Words Unspoken

John Surman

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: 5862035

Release Date:  16 February 2024

Label:  ECM

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  602458620351

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    The album title - Words Unspoken - alludes to the instant musical understanding found by the members of this nimble quartet assembled by great British reedman John Surman. "My idea was to put together some musical ideas that would offer a collective sense of purpose but still be open enough to allow each of us to suggest other ways of developing the material together. Everything fell into place immediately. But I soon realized it wasn't so much the musical ideas that made it work, it was the musicians." Surman and US vibraharpist Rob Waring - both residents of Oslo - had previously collaborated in John's Invisible Threads trio with Nelson Ayres, but the associations with Norwegian drummer Thomas Stronen and UK guitarist Rob Luft were new.

    With these four quick-witted players, all debate takes place in the music, stimulated by Surman's strongly melodic themes and improvisational imagination.

    John Surman: soprano and baritone saxophones, bass clarinet
    Rob Luft: guitar
    Rob Waring: vibraphone
    Thomas Stronen: drums


    "This quartet truly highlights what is so great about contemporary European jazz in the 21st century, and just how strong and inventive the ECM label is proving still to be...the resulting music being collectively inventive, adventurous and engagingly immersive." - ***** UK Vibe

    "The album is a deeply satisfying, significant experience from one of Europe's leading voices." - Jazz Views

    "At seventy-nine, Surman is a long way from his youth. But he plays with such vigour and passion on this stunning album that one would never guess. Words Unspoken is a gorgeous addition to an already impressive discography." - LondonJazz News

    "Surman's quartet with effects-guitarist Rob Luft, vibraphonist Rob Waring and ethereal percussionist Thomas Strønen frame his darkly murmuring baritone sax and bass clarinet and poignantly airborne soprano sound on 10 mostly low-key but spaciously lyrical originals." - The Guardian

    "It's a very ECM world of cool beauty, warmed by Surman's melodies." - Uncut

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Pebble Dance
      • 2. Words Unspoken
      • 3. Graviola
      • 4. Flower in Aspic
      • 5. Precipice
      • 6. Around The Edges
      • 7. Onich Ceilidh
      • 8. Belay That
      • 9. Bitter Aloe
      • 10. Hawksmoor