The Ic Years (The Prophet & In 'cognito)


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: MIG00082

Release Date:  08 September 2023

Label:  Mig Music

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  885513000828

Genres:  Electronic  Progressive Rock  

  • Description

    The band was founded as "Peacock" in 1975 by Tommy Betzler and first toured the extended Rhine-Main area and built up a small but loyal fan base - Recording a demo tape and sending it to record companies proved to be unsuccessful - There were a lot of rejections, especially with the reason that the time of "progressive rock" is really over and "disco" is now the latest thing - In short - Peacock decided to split up - But they had done the math without Klaus Schulze.

    In order to impress Klaus, it was decided to give a live concert in the well-known venue "Die Goldenen Krone" in Darmstadt / Germany ("The Golden Crown") so that the mastermind could get a musical impression. Long story short- at the following dinner a record deal was signed and a few days later Peacock were already at the Panne-Paulsen-Studio in Frankfurt to record their debut album"The Prophet" (1980), produced by Klaus Schulze himself. It turned outt hat there was already a band of the same name, so they came up with the elegant solutionof calling themselves P'cock from now on. In 1981followed the second P'cock record "In'cognito", this time produced directly in Klaus Schulze's studio in Winsen / Germany.

    P'cock proved to be one of the most innovative German rock bands beyond the tapped out Krautrock idiom on the threshol dof the New Wave and the New German Wave, which was still to be taken seriously in the beginning.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. The Prophet
      • 2. The Actors Fun
      • 3. Toby
      • 4. Silver Swallow
      • 5. N 1,4
      • 6. Fly Your Kite
      • 7. La Mer

      Disc 2

      • 1. House In The Storm
      • 2. Funtime Sorrow
      • 3. Always Funny
      • 4. Ban 'cock
      • 5. Mother
      • 6. Mr. Pollution
      • 7. Look (At Life)
      • 8. House In The Storm (short version)