New Strategies For Modern Crime Vol. 2 ()

Prefuse 73

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: LEX180CD2

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Format Details:

Release Date:  28 June 2024

Label:  Lex Records

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  878390009848

Genres:  Electronic  Jazz  

  • Description

    Pioneering electronic musician, composer and producer: Prefuse 73 aka Guillermo Scott Herren announces his new album, New Strategies for Modern Crime Vol. 1 & 2. His first new album since 2018's Sacrifices, New Strategies for Modern Crime sees Herren delving further into his ground breaking take on experimental hip-hop through orchestrated arrangements via the optic of the media's sensationalism of crime, blended with influences from lost soundtracks, musique concrete, jazz and beat-tape music to create something wholly unique.

    Herren's musical journey began in the mid-1990s when he emerged on the underground scene under various aliases, experimenting with different styles and genres. However, it was with the creation of Prefuse 73 when he truly found his unique voice. In 2001, Herren released his groundbreaking debut album, Vocal Studies + Uprock Narratives, which immediately garnered attention for its avant-garde sound. The album skillfully combined glitchy electronic beats, intricate samples, and fragmented vocals, establishing Prefuse 73 as a trailblazer in the burgeoning genre of electronic hip-hop.

    Prefuse 73 continued to push boundaries with subsequent releases, including One Word Extinguisher and Surrounded by Silence, showcasing his ability to seamlessly fuse disparate elements and create his own distinctive style. Characterized by intricate production and unconventional time signatures, Herren's releases have gone on to influence an entire generation of electronic musicians.

    Throughout his career, Prefuse 73 has collaborated with a diverse array of artists, including MF Doom, Ghostface Killah, GZA, El-P, Sam Prekop, Helado Negro, and more. His work reflects a constant evolution, with each album offering a new perspective on the intersection of electronic and hip-hop music.

    Prefuse 73's impact on the electronic music scene extends beyond his discography; he has inspired a generation of producers to embrace experimentation and challenge conventional norms. Guillermo Scott Herren's artistic journey continues to evolve, leaving an indelible mark on the landscape of contemporary electronic music.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Lion Chorus
      • 2. Vast Wildlife Poison
      • 3. Canine Chorus
      • 4. Fare Le Corna
      • 5. Complete Rejection
      • 6. 245 Wagon Talk
      • 7. Weather Systems
      • 8. Il Calibro
      • 9. Python Print
      • 10. New Crime Rising Reflection
      • 11. Canine Chorus (scene two)
      • 12. La Parte Centrale
      • 13. Lion Chorus (scene two)
      • 14. Vast Wildlife Poison (Scene Two)
      • 15. Canine Farewell
      • 16. 244 Sedan Decay