Soundtrack To A Ghost Story

The Orphan Brigade

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: OB01

Format Details:

Release Date:  13 November 2015

Label:  Orphan Brigade

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  880547944100

Genres:  Country  Alt.Country  

  • Description

    This is a ghost story set to musc...

    Melding roots music with Southern history to create and capture Americana in the purest sense of the word, a group of musicians (The Orphan Brigade) spent a year writing and recording an album in one of the most haunted houses in the southern United States, The Octagon Hall in Franklin, Kentucky. The group (led by singer/songwriters Ben Glover, Neilson Hubbard and Josh Britt) set out to tell the story of this eerie architectural oddity and of the family, soldiers, and servants who lived and died there. The group looked for inspiration and possible encounters with the spirits of this place. In the end they found that and much more.

    The house became a symbol of how we are all haunted by the things that we cannot let go of. While tracing the lives of these 19th century characters they found a window into universal themes that we all face. What do we leave behind? Will we be remembered or do we ultimately become invisible? Are our beliefs just illusions we hold onto to justify the things we do? If we hold on too tightly to our causes will they ultimately destroy us? These musicians came to tell the story of this house and in the process told their own story.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Octagon Hall Prelude
      • 2. Pale Horse
      • 3. Trouble My Heart (Oh Harriet)
      • 4. I've Seen The Elephant
      • 5. Sweetheart
      • 6. Last June Light
      • 7. The Story You Tell Yourself
      • 8. We Were Marching On Christmas Day
      • 9. Whistling Walk
      • 10. Good Old Flag
      • 11. Cursed Be The Wanderer
      • 12. Paddy's Lamentation
      • 13. Goodnight Mary
      • 14. The Orphans