Let Me In, Again! 1955-1962 More Roots Of Philadelphia Soul

Yvonne Baker & The Sensations

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: JASMCD3257

Release Date:  13 October 2023

Label:  Jasmine Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  604988325720

Genres:  R&B  Easy Listening  

  • Description

    The Sensations were an R&B/DooWop vocal group from Philadelphia, formerly known as The Cavaliers, made up of three guys and a girl, which was an unusual line-up for the mid-50s.
    Their personnel comprised Yvonne Mills (lead), Tommy Wicks (tenor), Tommy Cooke (baritone) and Alphonso Howell (bass).
    They recorded for Atlantic subsidiary Atco between 1955-58 and made the R&B charts with 'Yes Sir, That's My Baby' and 'Please Mr Disc Jockey', before breaking up.
    In 1961 Mills (now married, and renamed Yvonne Baker) and Howell reformed the group, with new members Richard Curtain (tenor) and Sam Armstrong (Baritone).
    Recording for Chess subsidiary Argo, they charted with 'Music, Music, Music' and 'That's My Desire', and their biggest, crossover Pop/R&B hit, Yvonne's quirky 'Let Me In'.
    Here, for the first time on one CD, are all The Sensations' recordings for Atco and Argo, between 1956 and 1962.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Yes Sir That's My Baby
      • 2. Sympathy
      • 3. Ain't He Sweet
      • 4. Please Mr. Disc Jockey
      • 5. My Heart Crys For You
      • 6. Cry Baby Cry
      • 7. Little Wallflower
      • 8. Such A Love
      • 9. My Debut To Love
      • 10. You Made Me Love You
      • 11. Romance In The Dark
      • 12. Kiddy Car Lover
      • 13. Nobody But Me
      • 14. Music, Music, Music
      • 15. A Part Of Me
      • 16. Let Me In
      • 17. Oh Yes I'll Be True
      • 18. Eyes
      • 19. That's My Desire
      • 20. Party Across The Hall
      • 21. No Changes
      • 22. Yes Sir, That's My Baby
      • 23. Lollipop Baby
      • 24. Xyz
      • 25. Twisting The Blues