Prisoner's Song

Warren Storm

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: JASCD1196

Release Date:  13 October 2023

Label:  Jasmine Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  604988119626

Genres:  Easy Listening  Cajun  

  • Description

    Singing drummer Warren Storm was Swamp-Pop royalty, reaching his commercial apogee with his very first 45rpm, a revival of Vernon Dalhart's 'Prisoner's Song', in 1958.
    He subsequently embarked upon a remarkable career, experiencing a major resurgence in popularity around the turn of the century, when he was in his sixties,
    He continued to tour and record with the all-star South Louisiana band Lil' Band Of Gold until his death, in 2021, at the age of eighty-four.
    Storm has been poorly served over the years in terms of CD compilations of his classic recordings, and this is an attempt to put that right.
    This set anthologises his first dozen 45s, produced by Jay Miller and issued between 1958-62, and by way of bonus tracks includes a further eight live sides, recorded with Herb Landry & The Serenaders, in 1957.
    Much of this material has never previously appeared on CD.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Prisoner's Song
      • 2. Mama Mama Mama Look What Your Little Boy's Done
      • 3. Troubles, Troubles (Troubles On My Mind)
      • 4. In My Moments Of Sorrow
      • 5. So Long, So Long (Good Bye, Good Bye)
      • 6. I've Got My Heart In My Hand
      • 7. I'm A Little Boy (Looking For Love)
      • 8. Birmingham Jail
      • 9. Oh Oh Baby
      • 10. I Thank You So Much
      • 11. I'm Such A Fool
      • 12. Since She Said So Long (She's Gone)
      • 13. No, No
      • 14. Bohawk Georgia Grind
      • 15. I Can't Love You (Like You Want Me To)
      • 16. Gotta Go Back To School
      • 17. Take These Chains From My Heart
      • 18. It's Hard But It's Fair
      • 19. Blues Stop Knocking (At My Door)
      • 20. Kansas City
      • 21. Jailhouse Blues
      • 22. This Should Go On Forever
      • 23. If You Don't Want Me (Let Me Know)
      • 24. When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again
      • 25. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
      • 26. Keeper Of My Heart
      • 27. Lillie Mae
      • 28. I Want You To Know
      • 29. Jump Children
      • 30. I Trusted You
      • 31. Honest I Do
      • 32. Baby Give Me A Chance