Rhythm On The City Wall

Dan Wilde

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: WLDSND059

Release Date:  29 July 2016

Label:  Dan Wilde

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  0634158472183

Genres:  Folk  Singer Songwriter  

  • Description

    Originally from Blackpool, Dan now lives in Cambridge - but his wanderlust has taken him touring through the USA, Germany, Switzerland, Holland and the Czech Republic. He has recently returned from a six-month stint in Russia, where he recorded large chunks of his forthcoming release.

    In the last two years he has supported Ethan Johns, Cara Dillon, Karine Polwart, Sam Carter, John Smith and Martin Taylor to name a few, and performed at some of the UK's best-loved folk festivals - Cambridge Folk Festival, Kendal Calling, Beverley Festival and Galtres. Intimate and moving, Wilde's work has a lyrical grace which is hard to match. Allow the song 'Pieces' to pin you to the wall and you won't want to come back down.

    Two albums in, the evidence is clear he's an extraordinary songsmith, while his 'stunning' guitar playing (Maverick Magazine) has led to an endorsement from Fylde guitars. Previous releases, 'This Is The Place' (2010) and 'With Fire in Mind' (2013), have cemented his reputation.

    It is his profound lyrics, melded with a unique melodic sensibility, which shows the writer maturing into a poetic commentator and keen observer of everyday life's patterns and tapestries in his songs akin to Damien Rice and David Gray. Dan's words have been described as "deeply personal and introspective but engrossing and charismatic" (Folkwords) and they reflect his peripatetic restlessness.

    "Engrossing and charismatic" - FOLKWORDS

    Dan Wilde has been performing his own brand of richly observant folk both in the UK and around the world for the past five years. And in that time, he's developed a growing fan-base and a reputation amongst those who know as "a fantastic songwriting talent who without a doubt will deserve and demand your attention" (Eclectically Challenged).

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Pieces
      • 2. Ideas Up My Sleeve
      • 3. Windy Head
      • 4. Something You've Got
      • 5. The List
      • 6. With Your Eyes Closed
      • 7. Nobody Home
      • 8. Hammersmith Palais
      • 9. Follow You
      • 10. Letter From Phoenicia
      • 11. Let Him Go